Handwriting: Is It The Lost Art?

Handwriting, cursive or print, does that word ring a bell? Maybe you are saying yes because you grew up personally writing everything, while perfecting your penmanship. Or maybe you are saying no because you have had a keyboard at your fingertips for as long as you can remember. Whichever your answer… try to think of this… do you believe that handwriting is truly a lost art? Or do you believe that with the fast growing technology that handwriting really won’t matter anymore?

(As you continue to follow my blog, you’ll catch on that I like to ask questions at the beginning!)

As a 1990’s kid, I remember sitting in class every day and writing my cursive “Q’s,” dotting my “i’s,” crossing my “t’s,” and overcoming the frustration of learning how to write the hardest cursive letter ever…. “F.” Call me a nerd in elementary school, but I LOVED learning how to properly print the alphabet, as well as writing the alphabet in cursive. In fact, I think it helped me in learning throughout all of the rest of my elementary, middle, and high school years. 

Now, as a college student in 2016, I unfortunately hardly ever lift a pen. Unless, ofcourse, my type A personality gets to the best of me and I need to write out my entire semester in my calendar. 

The New York Times lets us know that, “The Common Core Standards, which have been adopted in nearly all states, call for teaching legible writing, but only in kindergarten and first grade (Konnikova).  

If I recall correctly, I was taught legible writing until the fourth grade…

Konnikova also stated in her article in The New York Times that, “Children not only learn to read more quickly when they first learn to write by hand, but they also remain better able to generate ideas and retain information. In other words, it’s not just what we write that matters — but how.”

So if the children are the future… don’t we want to help them learn quicker and be able to retain information? I think so! 

So now that I have briefly stated my opinion on this, let me re-ask the questions from the beginning….

Do you believe that as technology is becoming more and more popular- that handwriting is becoming less of an importance? As some may call it, “the lost art?”

To each their own, but I believe that it is both something that is needed among our young learners, as well as something that is timeless among the ages. 

References:

Konnikova, Maria. “What’s Lost as Handwriting Fades.” The New York Times. The New York Times, 02 June 2014. Web. 20 Sept. 2016.

One thought on “Handwriting: Is It The Lost Art?

  1. I agree that handwriting is needed among young learners. When I was in 3rd grade, we were expected to be avid cursive writers. Cursive! I work and volunteer frequently with children, and I’ve seen fifth graders whose printing looks like they just learned how to write.What happens to this new generation when they finally make it into the real world and have to use handwriting in professional settings? Children need to learn handwriting, and they need to learn it consistently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

